Ralph Waldo Emerson – Day 1

I have pledged to complete the Ralph Waldo Emerson 30-Day Self-Reliance Writing Challenge. The prompt and my entry for Day 10:

These are the voices which we hear in solitude, but they grow faint and inaudible as we enter into the world. Society everywhere is in conspiracy against the manhood of every one of its members. – Ralph Waldo Emerson
Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed? Put yourself in the shoes of the you who’s already lived your dream and write out the answers to the following:
Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?
Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?
Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?
Now Do. The Thing. You Fear. (Author: Lachlan Cotter)

Someone once told me that he thinks I fear getting a new job. I think that I’ve gotten over that fear and am ready for change. Well, more than ready actually. I just need to continue to push push push myself to find one that’s right.

Day 11: 
I will not hide my tastes or aversions. I will so trust that what is deep is holy, if we follow the truth, it will bring us out safe at last. –
Ralph Waldo Emerson
Think of a time when you didn’t think you were capable of doing something, but then surprised yourself.  How will you surprise yourself this week? (Author: Ashley Ambirge)

This week I will surprise myself by not over-committing to events. There is so much to do and I would love to experience so much of it. Unfortunately, when I over-commit myself I’m not able to really enjoy being where I am. I have to keep an eye on the clock to be sure that I’m giving myself enough time to get to the next event. And go go go go go… So, yes. This week I will practice saying, “No, thank you. I have plans.”

Leave a Reply

