>Hola!

>I’m still here, just super busy (and thus, very tired when I’m not). Thought I’d share my answers to Belicove’s Friday Five:

Q1 – Teachers: The Houston Independent School District (HISD) is about to become the largest public school district in the United States to tie teachers’ pay to their students’ standardized test scores. How do you feel about this? Do you feel HISD and other school districts around the country should be able to tie teacher pay to student performance, or should merit or something else aside from student performance figure into the equation?
Since I’m not in school and haven’t been for some time, I hadn’t thought about how easy it is for a teacher to cheat this type of set up until I recently read Freakonomics. I’m not sure how teachers should be paid, but I do see flaws in the HISD system.

Q2 – Osama: Do you honestly think Osama bin Laden will ever be captured or killed by U.S. troops? If bin Laden is captured, the current administration will have to chase after someone or something else when it’s time to distract Americans. Why not keep it simple and keep chasing the same guy?

Q3 – Emotion: When and why was the last time you screamed at the top of your lungs? It was last January when I was at the end of my rope with a work project. I took a short drive to get away. When crying wasn’t enough, I decided to scream. Screaming is great, but should be saved for special occasions.

Q4 – Your Bed: Is your bed really comfortable, or do you live with poor sleep caused by the quality of your bedding? My bed is really comy… Though, I could use a few new pillows.

Also interesting…
The Freakonomics Blog has a link to this story at Editor & Publisher about the Indy Star’s plans to celebrate the assumed Colts’ Super Bowl victory.

Leave a Reply

