>I first ran across Belief-O-Matic almost exactly five years ago when I stayed home from Mass when at home-home. At that time in my life, I was searching for some method of worship/meditation/ritual to make me feel like everything was going to work out in a bigger picture kind of way. It was a pretty low point in my life and I was at witt’s end. I did a little searching and found the survey. Five years ago, I was ranking at 100% Neo-Pagan (followed closely by Unitarian Universalism), which essentially is 100% whatever you want to believe. Mikal at Belicove recently linked to Belief-O-Matic and I just took the survey again. My results:

1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
2. Neo-Pagan (97%)
3. New Age (92%)
4. Liberal Quakers (89%)
5. Theravada Buddhism (84%)
6. Mahayana Buddhism (84%)
7. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (83%)
8. Secular Humanism (72%)
9. New Thought (71%)
10. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (67%)
11. Taoism (67%)
12. Scientology (64%)
13. Jainism (58%)
14. Bahá’í Faith (57%)
15. Reform Judaism (57%)
16. Hinduism (56%)
17. Orthodox Quaker (53%)
18. Sikhism (49%)
19. Nontheist (46%)
20. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (39%)
21. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (33%)
22. Orthodox Judaism (30%)
23. Jehovah’s Witness (27%)
24. Seventh Day Adventist (25%)
25. Islam (21%)
26. Eastern Orthodox (13%)
27. Roman Catholic (13%)

Leave a Reply

