>Familiar Strangers: One Joy of Living in the City

>Thanks to everyone who played along with the book meme that went around a few weeks ago, I was able to get some new summer reading ideas. I found this review from Ms. W particularly striking and put the book on hold at the library (My internal dialogue is in purple.):

Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs.
One of the most relevant-to-me books I’ve ever read. Hm… If you were born between 1970 and 1980, yep, you have a sense of humor, I like to think so, and a pretty good grasp of pop culture, that’s fair, I urge you to read this book. Hm… Urge? You will probably be like me and not connect with every single essay, but I feel confident that there will be something in those pages that hits home with you more than you ever could have expected. Worth the risk… So far I have bought this book for 4 people and they’ve all said the same thing. Damn, she’s serious. Let’s see if I can get my hands on this one…

So, I went to the library web site to see if it was available. Nope, eight others had put it on hold before me. Eh, I figured I’d get to read it sometime around Halloween. But my notice email came in this morning and it actually crossed my mind on my way home from work. So, I went by the library to see if it was still open. Yep. I picked up a few books and headed to the checkout desk. My least favorite librarian* was working this evening. Yippee f’ing skippee… So, he scans my card and heads back to the shelf of books on hold. I wait… I wait… I wait… I watch as he walks back and forth and looks puzzled. I figure he’s messing with me, as anyone’s least favorite librarian might. He shrugs, looks at his hands (as though he may have written the answer to a very complex question on them somewhere) and returns to the desk. He looked a little apologetic and slightly frustrated. He looked at the screen again and then to me. “I guess I should be looking under ‘H’ instead of ‘S’, huh?” Clever one, isn’t he? All of this to thank Ms. W for her assistance in throwing a wrench in my least favorite librarian’s day. Please let me know if I can help you play with the minds of any of your least favorite familiar strangers.

*I don’t have a favorite librarian as of date. I do not like this guy one itty bit since he accused me of stealing a magazine. Long story made short… I didn’t. The magnetic slip had fallen when I came back in to pick up a brochure. From that moment forward, he’s been my least favorite librarian.

Leave a Reply

